You are browsing the search results for "for-candidates/competency-sets"

Which competency set should you achieve?

You must complete the three required competency sets.

Next, look at the remaining seven competency sets and choose three to complete your achievement for support staff certification:

Do you have enough library experience?

If you are reading this, you are seriously considering preparing a portfolio to achieve a competency set.  To prepare a successful portfolio, you need to have knowledge and skill in that area. .  If you have not done so already, …

LSSC Searching for Evaluators

The ALA-APA’s Library Support Staff Certification (LSSC) Program currently needs the help of librarians with an MLIS and at least five years’ experience in one of the areas of the LSSC competency sets, which are listed below.

LSSC began …


Submit your Re-certification Form.

Download the Re-certification Tracking Tool

Time: The LSSC certification is valid for four years. Certification holders must renew their certification before the end of their initial certification period and every four years thereafter.

Certification …

For Candidates

Welcome to an exciting opportunity for you to:

  • Learn new knowledge and skills
  • Demonstrate your competence in library services
  • Receive recognition for your skills and knowledge
  • Have certification that is recognized across the country
  • Increase your confidence in your own


Recognizing Value: Encouraging Growth

Learn more about the application process, eligibility requirements, and costs associated with becoming an LSSC Candidate!

Welcome to LSSC

What is the LSSC?  LSSC is designed to recognize the value and accomplishments of Library Support Staff.…