Standing Committee on the Salaries and Status of Library Workers

During the 2002-2003 ALA presidency of Maurice J. (Mitch) Freedman, the ALA Better Salaries and Pay Equity for Library Workers Task Force accomplished many activities that laid the foundation for the Standing Committee on the Salaries and Status of Library Workers and its subcommittees.

The ALA-APA Bylaws state that “there shall be a standing committee of nine members, appointed by the ALA-APA Board of Directors, to guide ALA-APA activities in support of better salaries, comparable worth, pay equity, and similar programs related to the status of librarians and other library workers. This committee will report to the ALA-APA Council at each regular meeting.”

Charge (approved January 22, 2007)

To provide training and information, recommend standards, suggest strategies, and undertake research to:

Acting as a resource on the pay equity issue for the American Library Association:

  • Maintaining a liaison from the Standing Committee to the National Committee on Pay Equity (NCPE)
  • Maintaining an active network and database of resources in support of these issues
  • Supporting equal employment for all library employees

To promote and advocate pay equity and equity in the workplace as it affects all library employees by:

All in support of and promoting the larger goals of the American Library Association-Allied Professional Association.

Webinars Hosted by SSLW Committee

What Comes after Unionization: Effective Engagement with Library Workers 

Date Held: May 8, 2024; Listen now.

Brief Description: Panel of experienced library leaders discussed ways to successfully engage with a unionized workforce. This event was designed for libraries that have unionized within the past 5 years and/or for libraries that appear to be heading towards unionization. The session can be extremely informative for managers who work in unionized workplaces.


  • Ed Garcia, Library Director, Cranston Public Library (Rhode Island)
  • Elissa C. Cadillic, President, AFSCME, Local1526, Boston Public Library
  • Maura A. Smale, PhD, MLIS, Chief Librarian, Mina Rees Library, The Graduate Center, City University of New York (CUNY)


  • Angela Jones, SSLW Chair
  • Jimmy Gonzalez – Vicker, SSLW Committee Member


Empowering Library Workers: Navigating Unionization in Challenging Environments

Date Held: May 1, 2024; Listen now.

Brief Description: Library workers across the country are facing numerous external challenges involving funding and governance, the alarming rate of book challenges and successful bans, threats of violence, and other crucial issues. Internally, library workers are battling low wages, long hours, and low morale. How do workers look after their own needs while providing vital services to their communities? Panelists discussed encouraging stories and suggested actionable strategies to leverage collective worker power in the workplace. Panelists also responded to questions from the audience.


  • Sabina Ali, Associate Instructor, Indiana University, Department of Religious Studies, Indiana Graduate Workers Coalition, (IGWC)
  • Megan Durham, Youth Services Librarian, Daniel Boone Regional Library Workers United
  • Moriah Olsen, Labor Relations Specialist, New York State United Teachers (NYSUT)


  • Rosemary Farrell, Instructor & Reference Librarian, CUNY Graduate School of Public Health & Health Policy
  • Ly Nguyen, Adult Services & Outreach Librarian, Forest Park Public Library, IL


Salary Negotiation – Ins, Outs, and In Between

Webinar held: May 13, 2021

Brief Description: Panelists discussed how salary decisions are made, what compensation packages consist of, and how to highlight strengths. In addition to talking numbers, panelists also discussed the difference and benefits of collective bargaining compared to individual salary negotiations, and how collective bargaining affects pay equity and equality.

Supplemental Information


Current Roster


Angela Jones (Chair, 2023 – 2024)

Jane Billinger (Member, 2022 – 2024)

Mimi S. Davis (Member, 2022 – 2024)

Nicollette M. Davis (Member, 2022 – 2024)

Rosemary Farrell (Member, 2023 – 2025)

Jaime Gonzalez-Vicker (Member, 2023 – 2025)

Lindsay Hall (Member, 2022 – 2024)

Sam Helmick (ALA Board Liaison, 2021 – 2024)

Eboni Henry (Member, 2022 – 2024)

Scott Hertzberg (Member, 2023 – 2025)

Malana Krongelb (Member, 2023 – 2025)

Louisa Lebwohl (Member, 2022 – 2024)

Michael Monahan (Member, 2023 – 2025)

Ly Nguyen (Member, 2023 – 2025)

Leah Richardson (Member, 2022 – 2024)

Jennifer Walker (Member, 2022 – 2024)

Beatrice Calvin (Staff Liaision)