Committee on Pay Equity

Established by Council on recommendation of the Special Presidential Committee on Pay Equity (1984-86) via the Committee on Organization in July, 1986. The wording in the charge was changed from “librarians” to “library workers” in July, 1987.

To consist of eleven (11) members with staggered two-year terms.


  1. promote and advocate pay equity as it affects library workers, both to the profession and to outside groups;
  2. act as a resource on the pay equity issue for the Association and its units;
  3. support ALA representation and active involvement of the ALA Committee on Pay Equity in the National Committee on Pay Equity ; and
  4. maintain an active network and database of resources that is made available to state and local groups in support of pay equity issues.

Committee on Pay Equity Members

Member Position/Term

E. J. Josey
University of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, PA 15213-1905
Chair, 2001-2002
Mario A. Ascencio
Washington D.C. Public Library
Washington, DC 20044-4033
Member, 2001-2003
Karyle S. Butcher
Oregon State University
The Valley Library
Corvallis, OR 97331-4501
Member, 2000-2002
Marina Claudio – Perez
San Diego Public Library
San Diego, CA 92101-6478
Member, 2001-2003
Cynthia Lynn Coccaro
Cleveland Public Library
Brooklyn Branch
Kent, OH 44240-5406
Member, 2001-2003
Marva L. DeLoach
Diablo Valley College Library
Richmond, CA 94805-1707
Member, 2000-2002
Michele M. Leber
Fairfax County Public Library
Arlington, VA 22202-4420
Ex-Officio Member, 2000-2002
Raymond H. Markey
New York Public Library Guild
Valley Cottage, NY 10989-2439
Member, 2000-2002
Vivian B. Melton
Shaker Hts, OH 44120
Member, 2000-2002
Brent Singleton
Young Research Library
Los Angeles, CA 90034
Member, 2001-2003
Janet Tom
Queens Borough Public Library
Long Island City, NY 11105
Intern, 2000-2002
Lorelle R. Swader
American Library Association
Dir., HRDR
Chicago, IL 60611
Staff Liaison